New Year’s Resolutions – Music & Film

Happy new year!

Throughout 2016 I set myself a number of tasks and resolutions relating to both music and film.

Music wise, I set my self the goal of averaging a minumum of two albums per month that I’d not listened to before (one from 2016 and one pre-dating 2016). Additionally, I would listen to the entire discography of an individual band each month.

Film wise, I started my Year of Film series. I started it in March sometime to help me keep track of everything I’ve seen (regardless of whether it was from this year or not) and to write a little about it.

In the music front, I managed to pretty much stick to the plan, even squeezing in some extra albums at the back end of the year. It was also great to check out the discographies of (most) of the bands I went for. So, for 2017, I’ll be doing the same.

On the film front, while I managed to mostly keep a track of things, I did slack off in the back half of the year (hence the fewer updates with an increasing number of entires per update). I’ve decided to abandon my initial YOF list and start afresh with a YOF2017 list, running it from 1st Jan – 31st Dec to bring it in line with my musical resolutions too.

With all that in mind, I am open to suggestions for which band to cover for the January disography. Any and all suggetions are welcome, though my loose ground rules still apply – no more than 6 albums, and all have to be on Spotify.

P.s. For those interested, the albums I rated the highest from this year were:

2016 Releases
Kvelertak – “Nattesferd”
Opeth – “Sorceress”
SubRosa – “For This We Fought The Battle of Ages.”

Pre-2016 Releases
Mastodon – “The Hunter”
The Darkness – “Permission to Land”
Rise Against – “Appeal to Reason”
*Shels – “Sea of the Dying Dhow”

I would give all of the above 4.5 / 5 (except The Hunter, which gets the perfect 5).

Leave a Reply

